​A Chat with Shan

A Chat with Shan

Today we sat down with our Operations Coordinator Shan Gao to learn more about her.

What do you do as an Operations Coordinator? What are your main tasks?

As an operations coordinator, I support the Operations Manager to make sure that everything runs smoothly in the office.

My main tasks are related to Administration and HR.

Basically, for any problem that pops up and people don’t know who to address, they come to me! (She laughs). Especially for matters that need to be handled by a Chinese native speaker.

Why did you choose an International Company instead of a Chinese one? How is it to work in a multicultural environment?

International working environments are definitely more open-minded and stimulating compared to Chinese ones.

Swedbrand is a fast developing company where I can truly see myself growing together with its evolution.

It’s interesting and exciting at the same time to work in such a multicultural environment. What I enjoy the most is to see how people with different cultural backgrounds work together and support each other, how they can cooperate and mix up in a nice way.

Where are you from originally? Is it tough for you to live away from your family?

I come from Shandong province, in the north east of China. It’s a place full of history and culture, where Confucius was born. The most famous city is Qingdao, popular for the renowned beer and for its coastal landscapes. My region is also well known for its past, there are still historical sites from 2000 to 3000 years ago. And of course for itsdelicious fruits and vegetables.

I first left my family to move to the UK when I was 18, so it’s not that tough for me anymore to leave away from them. I got used to living on my own now.

My hometown is not that far from Shanghai, so we manage to see each other pretty often, in between 3 and 5 times per year.

Use three adjectives to describe yourself.




We know that you have lived in the U.K. for a while. Tell us something about your time there.

I spent 7 years in the U.K. and it was an amazing experience, I met people from all over the world and learnt how to survive by myself.

I first moved there when I was 18, I didn’t know anything about life at that time! I’ve lived in London for almost 2 years, while I was studying at College. After that I moved to Bangor, in the northern part of Wales, where my University was. Once I graduated in Psychology, I considered continuing studying, but then I realised that I wasn’t sure about what I really wanted from life anymore, so I decided to start working to explore myself, society and life. I said goodbye to the U.K. and moved to Beijing for an internship, where I ended up staying almost 3 years.

In 2013 I finally moved to Shanghai… and here I am! Happy to be here!

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?

I like watching shows and musicals, both Chinese and English ones. I love exploring my neighbourhood, going out with my friends and travelling.

If you could pick a travel destination, which one would you choose? How do you see yourself in the future?

My next destination is going to be Tibet. I will wait till the season is warmer though, now it’s too cold. I always pick culturally rich countries, or places with really unique landscapes.

In 5 years’ time, I see myself as a successful woman with a bright career, most likely in China. Hopefully at Swedbrand! 😉

Read more Swedbrand blog posts at swedbrand-group.com/blog, or visit our website at swedbrand-group.com.