A Chat with Sina

Today we sat down with our Account Manager Sina to learn more about her.

What do you do as an Account Manager? Which are your main responsibilities?

I am working for the German market but I also support my colleague with the Austrian market. I coordinate projects, communicate with clients and make sure that they are happy. With clients I am looking for possible packaging solutions for their products, send out offers, place orders and deal with the delivery after production is finished.

What did you do before you started at Swedbrand?

Back home in Germany, I worked in the tourism industry. Before moving to Shanghai, I worked as a convention sales manager in a hotel.

How long have you worked at Swedbrand?

I started working for Swedbrand in mid-October 2018. So, I have been at Swedbrand for about half a year.

How and why did you choose to work at Swedbrand?

When coming to Shanghai I set myself the goal to change the industry I work in to broaden my knowledge and expertise. As just mentioned I worked in the tourism industry before but was always keen on learning new things and challenge myself. I chose to work at Swedbrand because I have the opportunity to work internationally, but as an Account Manager for the German market still have a connection to my home country.

What do you like the most about the company?

The international working environment and the opportunity that was offered to me to set my foot in a new industry without having experiences in that field. Everyone working for Swedbrand has a different (cultural) background and different (language) skills which makes working together really interesting.

Describe Swedbrand with three words?




How long have you been in China?

I only moved to China when I started this job.

What is your experience of the country and its people?

China is different compared to my home country Germany in every aspect you can imagine. There isn’t one single day that I don’t see anything that isn’t “strange” in my eyes. Of course, Shanghai is one of the most western places in China but still, there is so many differences to Europe. One of them is for example dogs walking around with cloths and shoes, scooters loaded up with as many packages as possible or people cooking and serving food right on the street.

What have you learned from living here?

  1. Be patient. Although Shanghai is a very fast moving city you have to be patient. Things just take a bit longer here in China but in the end, everything always works out fine.
  2. Be brave. There are several things I do here that I have never done before in my life or that I simply did not like to do and that challenge me every day. One of them is for example eating food that I have no idea of what it actually is.
  3. Be open-minded. Being open to the new culture, language and ways of life. There is so much to learn from each other.
  4. Be disciplined. Working full-time as well as attending classes twice a week in the evening for learning a new language is though. I learned to be disciplined and manage my time well.

Where else in the world have you lived before?

I have lived in several countries before I moved to China. After finishing high-school I worked as an Au Pair in the US for 13 months. I studied tourism management in the Netherlands for 4 years and I spent half a year each in Finland and England while doing internships.

What are your plans for the future?

I want to make the most out of my time in Shanghai. For sure I will go back to Germany one day but until then I just want to enjoy life as much as I can. I want to travel around in Asia as much as possible during holidays and on the weekends, meet people from all over the world and get to know the Chinese way of life.

Where are you from originally? Tell us something about it!

Germany. I grew up in a small village in the northern part of Germany (near Wolfsburg) with around 1.200 inhabitants. This is roughly as many people I meet in the metro here in Shanghai every morning when going to work during rush hour.

What do you miss from home? What do you wish you could bring here?

To put it short, My car, the countryside and German bread. I simply love the freedom that having a car gives you. You can explore places that are located beyond the last metro or bus station. I also miss nature and the countryside. I love to be outside to go for a walk, cycle or hike but here in a big city like Shanghai the options to do that are very limited. Last but not least, I miss bread. Real German bread with a crust. It is so hard to find good bread outside of Germany.

What do you do in your free time?

Traveling, arts & crafts (sewing), reading, sports, explore the surroundings.

Do you have any hidden skills?

I love to renovate and build things. I always say that if I could, I would be a construction worker. I love building things, painting walls, cutting wood or drilling holes. I guess if I could, I would renovate my apartment once a month *she laughs*.